

## ALASKA STATE EMPLOYEES ASSOCIATION

American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees Local 52

# PENDING APPROVAL OF THE STATE EXECUTIVE BOARD

MINUTES OF ASEA/AFSCME LOCAL 52

Special Meeting of the State Executive Board June 21, 2021 (via Zoom)

### TABLE OF CONTENTS

1

2	CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL (1:03 p.m.)	3
3	BUSINESS OF THE SPECIAL MEETING	3
4	• Furlough vs. Layoff	3
5	Main Motion 21–178 (Executive Session.)	4
6	Main Motion 21–179 (Next Emergency Meeting)	4
7	ADJOURNMENT	4
8	Main Motion 21-180 (Adjournment)	4

1 2	SPECIAL BUSINESS MEETING OF THE ASEA/AFSCME LOCAL 52 STATE EXECUTIVE BOARD
3	June 21, 2021 via Zoom
4	CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL (1:03 p.m.)
5	The Special Board Meeting of the State Executive Board convened via Zoom and was called to
6	order at 1:03 p.m. by President Dawn Bundick, with a roll call by Secretary Lawrence Camp who
7	noted for the record that the following board members, ASEA member(s) and staff were present.
8	The presence of a quorum was declared.
9	
10	Present were:
11	Dawn Bundick, President
12	Lawrence Camp, Secretary
13	Shawn Alexander, Treasurer
14	Andrew Hills, Professional Representative
15	Beth Siegel, Northern Region Representative
16	Chuck Stewart, Class 1 Representative
17	Jody Morris, Rural Representative
18 19	Ken Cramer, Central Representative Leimomi Martin, Southeast Representative
20	Nicki Thomas, Bush Representative
21	Robin Britt, Technical Representative
22	Room Britt, Teenmeat Representative
23	Jake Metcalfe, Executive Director (with voice/no vote)
24	sake Wetcuite, Executive Birector (with voice no voice)
25	Excused:
26	Michael Bork, Municipal Representative
27	
28	Member(s) Present:
29	See Attached Appendix A (confirm Norma labels correctly and includes for posting)
30	
31	Also Present:
32	Jeremy Kruse, AFSCME Area Field Services Director
33	Margaret Pohjola, ASEA Accountant
34	MaryAnn Ganacias, ASEA Internal Organizer
35	Norma Jones, ASEA Administrative Assistant III
36	Reber Stein, ASEA Information Officer
37	Samantha Harris, ASEA Communications Coordinator
38	Suyene Dallman, ASEA Secretary
39	
40	BUSINESS OF THE SPECIAL MEETING
41	• Furlough vs. Layoff

President Bundick gave the floor to Executive Director Metcalfe to provide an update on 1 2 ASEA's position with regard to furloughs vs. layoffs. 3 4 Member Questions & Answers for 10 minutes starting at 1:14 p.m. 2 minutes; 1 question per 5 member. 6 Main Motion 21-178 (Executive Session) 7 8 Moved by Beth Siegel, seconded by Leimomi Martin Move to go into Executive Session to protect the integrity of negotiations. 9 10 Motion passed, without objection. 11 (The Executive Board went into Executive Session at 1:29 p.m., resuming the record in general 12 13 session at 2:36 p.m.) 14 (Note of Record: Shawn Alexander was excused from the meeting at 2:25 p.m.) 15 16 Main Motion 21-179 (Next Emergency Meeting) 17 Moved by Beth Siegel, seconded by Robin Britt 18 Move that we hold another emergency meeting to discuss any draft agreements by the State of 19 Alaska and that any tentative agreement with the State be forwarded to the membership for 20 ratification prior to implementation. 21 22 Main Motion 21-179 passed, without objection. 23 24 **MEMBER COMMENT:** 25 Jodi Andres, Anchorage Chapter, commented that she was dissatisfied with how this meeting 26 27 was conducted. 28 29 **ADJOURNMENT** 30 Main Motion 21-180 (Adjournment) 31 Moved by Chuck Stewart, seconded by Ken Cramer 32 Main Motion 21-180 passed, without objection. 33 34 35 (Whereupon, the June 21, 2021, Special Business Meeting of the ASEA/AFSCME Local 52 36 State Executive Board adjourned at 2:43 p.m.) 37 38 39 Respectfully submitted Lawrence Camp, Secretary 40 ASEA/AFSCME Local 52, AFL-CIO

(**NOTE:** Minutes are subject to approval at the next regular Executive Board meeting.)

41 42

#### Appendix A

#### Members Present:

Aleria Knudson, Anchorage Chapter Alexander Zinck, Anchorage Chapter Amy Tubb, Anchorage Chapter Andrea Jones, Juneau Chapter Andrew Coulter, Glennallen Chapter Brittany Staker, Midnight Sun Chapter Carolyn Gripper, Midnight Sun Chapter Cathy Ulrich Suggs, Anchorage Chapter Charity Larson, Anchorage Chapter Chelsea Navaez, Ketchikan Chapter Cheryl Cameron, Midnight Sun Chapter Christel Ritenour, Midnight Sun Chapter Cindi Baker, Anchorage Chapter Colleen Ivaniszek, Juneau Chapter Cynthia Acevedo, Juneau Chapter Dakota Emery, Anchorage Chapter Daphne Mikes, Anchorage Chapter Darryl Stepien, Anchorage Chapter Dawn Bundschuh, Anchorage Chapter Dawn Dulehohn, Juneau Chapter Demara Crim, Anchorage Chapter Dennette Marks, Midnight Sun Chapter Dmitriy Mozalevkiy, Mat-Su Chapter Drew von Lindern, Anchorage Chapter Edward Sarabia, Juneau Chapter Ellie Hakari, Anchorage Chapter Emily Haynes, Juneau Chapter Galina Lintelman, Anchorage Chapter Heidi Barnes, Anchorage Chapter Ilsa Lund, Juneau Chapter Jamie Grant, Anchorage Chapter Jaime Haughaboo, Anchorage Chapter Janel Wright, Anchorage Chapter Jason Miller, Anchorage Chapter Javier DeLeon, Juneau Chapter Jeanette Bartz, Anchorage Chapter Jennifer Roberts, Anchorage Chapter Jessica Downes, Anchorage Chapter Jessica Hall, Anchorage Chapter Joan Green, Anchorage Chapter Jodi Andres, Anchorage Chapter Kathy Parker, Anchorage Chapter Keith Heim, Anchorage Chapter

Kelly Gohl, Juneau Chapter Kristen Gruenthal, Juneau Chapter Ladda Frazier, Anchorage Chapter Laura Denty, Midnight Sun Chapter Linda Hall, Juneau Chapter Lisa Griswold, Anchorage Chapter Malia Miller, Anchorage Chapter Mandy Toong, Mat-Su Chapter Maria Pokorny, Anchorage Chapter Marnell Steiner, Juneau Chapter Martha Hewlett, Juneau Chapter Megan Lindsley, Mat-Su Chapter Miriam Freas, Anchorage Chapter Monica Mills, Anchorage Chapter Nina Harun, Midnight Sun Chapter Paige Meadows, Anchorage Chapter Patrick Geary, Anchorage Chapter Paul Kelly, Juneau Chapter Rebecca Marhenke, Mat-Su Chapter Reynaldo Gonzalez, Anchorage Chapter Rick Cottrell, Juneau Chapter Robert Burnett, Anchorage Chapter Ryan Dukowitz, Anchorage Chapter Ryan Bender, Anchorage Chapter Sandra Rasmussen, Anchorage Chapter Sara Brenner, Anchorage Chapter Scott Crass, Midnight Sun Chapter Scott Favorite, Anchorage Chapter Shavonne Jordan, Juneau Chapter Shawn Staker, Midnight Sun Chapter Shayla Jordan, Anchorage Chapter Shelly Merrill, Cook Inlet Chapter Simba Blackman, Juneau Chapter Staci Hall, Mat-Su Chapter Stacy Strubinger, Midnight Sun Chapter Susan Dunkin, Anchorage Chapter Susan Erben, Juneau Chapter Suzanne Tweedy, Juneau Chapter Tamara Brown, Juneau Chapter Taylor Borgfeldt, Anchorage Chapter Thomas Anderson, Anchorage Chapter Troy Jezeski, Juneau Chapter Vanessa Salmon, Juneau Chapter Zachary Gieszler, Anchorage Chapter Zuzanna Bobinski, Midnight Sun Chapter