Jim Duncan Receives AFSCME Proclamation

ASEA Executive Director Jim Duncan was honored ahead of his retirement in December 2017 with a rare proclamation issued by AFSCME International President Lee Saunders and Secretary-Treasurer Elissa McBride.

The unusual recognition by AFSCME leadership underscores the hard work and steadfast commitment Executive Director Jim Duncan demonstrated while advancing ASEA's membership, mission, and interests during his tenure from 2002 to 2017.

He is succeeded in the position by Executive Director Jake Metcalfe.

jim proc dec17AFSCME proc dec17

Proclamation In Honor Of Jim Duncan

WHEREAS: Jim Duncan faithfully served the members of the Alaska State Employees Association/AFSCME Local 52 as Executive Director for 15 years; and

WHEREAS: During his career, Jim has dedicated himself to improving the lives of ASEA members and all working families across the State of Alaska; and

WHEREAS: In his time at ASEA/AFSCME Local 52, Jim used his broad experience and skills to bring strength and stability to the union; and

WHEREAS Jim’s vision for and dedication to ASEA/AFSCME Local 52 has led him to work tirelessly to expand membership beyond state employees to include municipal workers; and

WHEREAS: In his time at ASEA/AFSCME Local 52, Jim facilitated the implementation of the AFSCME Strong plan and inspired members to “Never Quit”; and

WHEREAS Jim’s political acumen has helped navigate ASEA through complex struggles, gain the respect of other labor unions throughout Alaska, and establish long-lasting, productive relationships with members, leadership, and civic officials; and

RESOLVED: That we, Lee Saunders, President of AFSCME International, and Elissa McBride, Secretary-Treasurer of AFSCME International, do hereby honor you on this 7th day of December, in the year Twenty Seventeen.

We extend our best wishes and thanks for your years of dedicated service to ASEA/AFSCME Local 52

Lee Saunders                                                    
President, AFSCME International

Elissa McBride
Secretary-Treasurer, AFSCME International